Victims' Rights Outreach and Education
Please scroll down to view the active presentation schedule.
2020/2021 Presentation Schedule & Online Registration
**COVID-19: Due to the current global health emergency caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, all presentations will be conducted as webinars. In-person presentations will resume when the Attorney General’s Office and the State of Arizona determine that it is safe to do so. Until then, webinars will be conducted on BigMarker. Please review our webinar participation requirements below.
As always, the Attorney General’s Office of Victim Services is committed to the health of our staff, partners and community and continue to be available to assist with victims’ rights questions and technical assistance via email and telephone.**
Webinar Participation Requirements:
- You must register for the webinar as an individual. Please ensure you enter the webinar using your own unique link listed in your registration confirmation email. Do not share your webinar link with anyone.
- Please ensure you enter the webinar using Firefox or Chrome as your browser.
- If you enter the webinar more than 15 minutes after the scheduled start time, you will not be able to receive credit for attendance.
- You must be in attendance and actively participate for the duration of the training to receive credit.
Basic Victims' Rights
Basic Victims' Rights is presented from 9AM to 3PM with a one hour break for lunch (lunch on your own).
This presentation is highly recommended for employees new to victims' rights or for anyone who needs a refresher. Content covers fundamental information about victims' rights for adult and juvenile crimes in Arizona.
Please note: It is highly recommended that you attend the Basic prior to attending the Advanced.
- Brief History
- Victims' Journey through the Justice System with Applicable
- Victims' Compensation Programs
Advanced Victims' Rights - November 2020-September 2021
Advanced Victims' Rights is presented in a 3 hour session from 9AM to 12PM.
This presentation is for experienced victim services providers, Basic Victims’ Rights graduates, and anyone interested in gaining a deeper understanding of victims’ rights in the state of Arizona.
Victims in the Spotlight: How Victims of Crime Shape Law and Victims’ Rights
- Review of High-Profile Cases
- Case Law Activity
For more information on Victims’ Rights Education please contact OVSTraining@azag.gov.
Basic and Advanced Victims’ Rights Presentations are approved for *VOCA, AZPOST, COJET and CLE credit.
Systems-based Advocates: Are required to attend Basic every 5 years and Advanced annually.
Community-based Advocates: Are required to attend Basic every 5 years and recommended to attend Advanced annually.
*CLE Credit Criteria
Participants who are seeking Continuing Legal Education (CLE) credit must meet certain criteria. You must be present for the entire presentation, as no partial credit will be given. If you are an attorney seeking CLE credit, please visit: https://www.azbar.org/cleandmcle/cle/ to ensure you meet the criteria. If you qualify for CLE credit, please contact OVSTraining@azag.gov to request a CLE certificate and one will be provided to you upon verification of your attendance.
Please register for the “Basic” and “Advanced” trainings below.
9:00am - 10:30am