Terry Goddard Announces Stop Meth Poster Contest Winners

(Phoenix, Ariz. – Feb. 13, 2006) Attorney General Terry Goddard today announced the winners of the Stop Meth poster contest and unveiled the poster at the statewide Arizona Methamphetamine Conference at the Wyndham Hotel in downtown Phoenix.

The three winners of the Stop Meth poster contest were chosen from more than 300 entries from 42 schools across the state. The poster will be distributed to more than 700 conference participants attending representing law enforcement, tribal governments, substance abuse treatment programs, human services, school districts and community coalitions. The poster and students’ artwork will be used in a statewide public awareness campaign to fight meth.

  • First place was awarded to Encarnación “Shawn” Ramos of Andalucía Middle School in Phoenix. He received a $300 savings account from Wells Fargo.
  • Second place was awarded to Zainé Kenealy of Desert Shadows Middle School in Apache Junction. She received $200 savings account from Wells Fargo.
  • Third place was awarded to Sarah Bruemmer of Explorer Middle School in Phoenix. She received a $100 savings account from Wells Fargo.

The winning students also received a copy of the poster featuring their artwork signed by Attorney General Terry Goddard and Governor Janet Napolitano. Joining Attorney General Goddard in presenting the awards were his wife, Monica Goddard, and Dave Howell from the Wells Fargo Foundation.

The following students were awarded Honorable Mentions in the contest:

  • Kevin Ryan Burton – Horizon Charter School, Phoenix
  • Teresa Rubio – San Tan Junior High, Chandler
  • Jeanette Roelke – Elgin Elementary School, Elgin
  • Emily Davis – Desert Canyon Middle School, Scottsdale
  • Rene Luna – Alice Vail Middle School, Tucson
  • Tianna Freewan – Camp Verde Middle School, Camp Verde
  • Kaylyn Aguilar – Mesquite Junior High, Gilbert
  • Kara Cowley – Greenway Middle School, Phoenix
  • Alan Gonzales – Sierra Vista Academy, Scottsdale
  • Shayna Perry – Gridley Middle School, Tucson
  • Marianne Valdez – Challenger Middle School, Tucson
  • Micaela Foster – Calabasas Middle School, Rio Rico
  • Bryce Wawrzyniak – Explorer Middle School, Phoenix
  • Carlos Zapien – Explorer Middle School, Phoenix
  • Charysse Bartels – Explorer Middle School, Phoenix
  • Katie Carlton – Explorer Middle School, Phoenix
  • Jesse Higgins – Explorer Middle School, Phoenix
  • Kristen Vehmener – Explorer Middle School, Phoenix
  • Luis Maldonado – Andalucia Middle School, Phoenix
  • Florentine Luna – Andalucia Middle School, Phoenix
  • Carrie Clark – Desert Shadows Middle School, Apache Junction
  • Angeleena Flores – Black Canyon School, Phoenix
  • Noe Baez II – Kyrene Middle School, Tempe
  • Jacob Winfield – Coronado, Tucson
  • Oscar Parra – Naylor Middle School, Tucson
  • Sam McAlear – James Madison Prep School, Tempe

The Attorney General’s Office will post the honorable mention submissions on its Web site at www.azag.gov along with important information about methamphetamine. Poster entries will be displayed at the Attorney General’s Office and featured on its Web site on a rotating basis beginning February 14, 2006.